Promptchan Review 2026: Free Gems, 404 Pricing
Product facts and pricing verified on August 31, 2026.

Start free with 40 coins on Creamify40 free coins at signup, no card.
What Promptchan is, read at promptchan.com on two dates
Promptchan sells an AI girlfriend first and an image and video generator second, and that order explains most of what follows. The homepage leads with "no filter AI girlfriend chat": you build a companion, customize her appearance and personality down to interests and hobbies, and the media tools exist largely to give her a face and a scene. A free tier runs on an in-app currency called Gems, a paid upgrade sits above it, and the site claims a community catalog of more than 20 million images and videos. That is a real product with a real audience, and a different product than many people typing "Promptchan review" expect.
The older promptchan.ai address failed our DNS lookup outright on both August 20, 2026 and August 31, 2026, so a large share of the reviews ranking next to this one describe a site that no longer answers. For the reader who came for the renders rather than the conversation, Creamify's AI girlfriend generator is the image-only counterpart this review sets against Promptchan at the end.
Promptchan's feature sheet: companion first, media second
On August 20, image generation spanned a long named style list: Realistic, Hyperrealism, Anime, Anime XL, Cinematic XL, Hardcore XL, Hypersanime, K-Pop, Fur, and Furtoon. On August 31 the same homepage grouped image generation into four directions, Realistic, Anime, Cinematic, and Art, and the named styles we noted were Anime XL, Hyperreal XL+, and Illustration XL+. We report both readings rather than reconciling them: the spread from photoreal through anime to furry work is consistent across the visits, and what changed was how the homepage organized it.
Video generation exists alongside the image tools, and the site advertises cloning and variations on any image or video in the community catalog. Character creation is the spine of the experience: you shape a companion's look and personality, then chat with her, and the site pitches those conversations as natural enough to forget there is a model on the other end. A private mode is offered, described on August 31 as enhanced privacy, with the site stating creations can be kept private.
Credit where it is due. The companion customization runs deeper than most rivals, the chat is the lead feature rather than an afterthought, and one login covers the conversation and the media it generates. The twenty-million-item catalog is a real asset for anyone hunting styles to riff on.
What free means on Promptchan: Gems without a number
A genuinely free entry point is rarer in this category than it should be, and Promptchan has one. That is the whole of the good news, because "free" arrives with every quantity redacted: how many Gems a new account receives, what a single Gem buys, and what the upgrade costs when they run out are all withheld from a logged-out visitor. A paid plan is referenced without names or dollar amounts.
We went looking both times. On August 20 the obvious pricing URLs returned 404 errors; on August 31 the pricing URL answered with a 404 again, and the eleven days in between changed nothing on the commercial side of the site. None of that is an accusation; plenty of products reveal prices only after signup. It does mean a free tier of unknown size works as marketing, not as information: you cannot budget against it, and you cannot compare it to anything.
Why most Promptchan reviews cite an address that no longer resolves
This is the finding that generalizes beyond one product. The promptchan.ai name returned no DNS records on August 20 and none again on August 31, yet current search results for this product remain full of reviews still linking that dead address, complete with pricing tables of unknown vintage. Those pages are frozen at whatever the product looked like when they were written, and nothing on them tells you when that was.
The practical rule: treat any undated claim in this category as expired. Products here change domains, rework currencies, and revise policies faster than review sites revisit old posts, and a Promptchan writeup that links the .ai domain predates the move. Our own ranked list of uncensored platforms carries a visible verification date for the same reason this post carries two: when the facts drift, you can tell how stale the snapshot is.
| What a buyer asks | Promptchan on Aug 20, 2026 | Promptchan on Aug 31, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| Does promptchan.ai still resolve? | No DNS record | No DNS record |
| Is there a pricing page? | Obvious pricing URLs returned 404 | Pricing URL returned 404 |
| Is there a free tier? | Yes, on Gems; allowance not stated | Yes, on Gems; allowance not stated |
| What does the paid plan cost? | Upgrade referenced; no plan names, no dollar price | Paid plan referenced; no names, no dollar amounts |
| Which image styles are named? | Realistic, Hyperrealism, Anime, Anime XL, Cinematic XL, Hardcore XL, Hypersanime, K-Pop, Fur, Furtoon | Grouped as Realistic, Anime, Cinematic, Art; Anime XL, Hyperreal XL+, Illustration XL+ named |
| Is there video, and with audio? | Video offered; audio not stated | Video offered; audio not stated |
| Can renders be kept private? | Private mode offered; creations can be kept private | Private mode, pitched as enhanced privacy; creations can be kept private |
| Is a content policy readable logged out? | Not found | Not found |
| How big is the community catalog? | 20M+ images and videos, per the site | More than 20 million, per the site |
Promptchan the companion versus the generator people search for
"Promptchan" gets searched by two kinds of people, and the homepage answers only one of them. The first wants a persistent character, someone to talk to who remembers, flirts, and has a face; for that reader a companion-built product is the right shape, and the fair comparison set is other companion apps. The second arrives with prompts, reference styles, and scene ideas of their own, and a character system between them and the output is friction, not a feature; for that reader the relevant comparison set is dedicated NSFW image platforms, where the pipeline is prompt in, render out. Promptchan can serve the second reader, but only by routing every render through the first reader's product.
Where Creamify fits after Promptchan
Creamify is built the other way around: no companion, no conversation, eighteen curated engines whose whole job is turning your prompt into output. Twelve image engines cover the photoreal-to-anime spread, three instruction-based editors handle changes to an existing image, and three video engines round it out. Anime and hentai output runs through tag-driven engines built for the style, girlfriend-styled imagery without the chat layer comes from the AI girlfriend generator, and on the video side Wan 3.0 renders clips up to 30 seconds at up to 1080p with audio optional per clip.
The commercial facts are the mirror image of the Gems problem. A new account receives 40 welcome coins, and requires no card; the free tier is documented in public next to the paid ladder, where packs start at $5 and larger packs drop the rate. Any generation that fails refunds its coins automatically, renders are delivered under a Privacy Mode that is on by default, and the content line is stated in writing: no real people, nothing involving minors. What it does not do is the thing Promptchan leads with: there is no chat, no memory, and no persistent character, so if the conversation is what holds you, this is not a replacement.

If the renders are the goal, settle it empirically: the free coins cover a real test run, and the prompt guide will keep your first attempts from going to warm-up renders.
Promptchan questions, answered with checkable facts
Partly. The live site describes a free tier that runs on an in-app currency called Gems, with a paid upgrade above it. What its public pages did not state on either visit, August 20 and August 31, 2026: how many Gems a new account receives, what one Gem buys, or what the paid plan costs in dollars. The pricing URL returned a 404 both times. Free of unknown size cannot be comparison-shopped, only signed up for.
It stopped resolving. The product operates at promptchan.com, and DNS lookups on the old promptchan.ai address returned nothing on both of our check dates. Many third-party reviews still link the dead address and carry pricing tables of unknown vintage. A writeup pointing at .ai predates the move, and every other claim in it deserves re-checking against the live site.
Both, in that order. Its homepage leads with no filter AI girlfriend chat, and the image and video tools are presented as ways to give those companions a face and a scene. It is best understood as a companion product with generation attached: you design a character, talk to her, and render her. If you only want to type prompts and collect renders, expect the character layer to sit between you and the output.
We do not score other products on safety, so here is the checklist we run on any site in this category. Does it publish dollar pricing before signup? Promptchan did not, on August 20 or August 31, 2026. Does it state a written content policy you can read logged out? We did not find one on either visit. Does it offer privacy controls? Yes, a private mode is advertised, and the site says creations can be kept private.
No, and this page will not pretend otherwise. Creamify has no chat, no memory, and no persistent characters; it is a generation platform where a prompt goes in and an image, edit, or clip comes out, across eighteen curated engines. If the conversation is what holds you, compare Promptchan against other companion products instead. If the renders are what hold you, the free start is 40 welcome coins with no card, packs start at $5 when you outgrow them, and a failed render refunds its coins automatically.
Done researching Promptchan? Render your first test instead
Creamify's numbers are public before you sign up: 40 welcome coins, no card at registration, packs from $5 when you outgrow the free coins, and an automatic coin refund whenever a generation fails.
Start free with 40 coins